Valencian Pablo García, final winner of the Víctor Cabedo Trophy: “I’m speechless”

News · 26 September, 2021

IX Memorial Víctor Cabedo / Weekend 2
25th September: TTT Vila-real – Vila-real
26 September: Memorial Joan Bautista Llorens

The Valencian rider Pablo García, a second year junior rider, inscribed his name in the list of winners of the prestigious Víctor Cabedo Trophy, a Cabedo Memorial that celebrated this Sunday its last race, the Joan Bautista Llorens Memorial in Vila-real, in which Rubén Sánchez won the sprint. García had climbed to the lead after the team time trial on Saturday afternoon and on this Sunday morning he found superlative support from all his team-mates, a tireless work to defend his yellow jersey on a not easy course, with the passage through the demanding Alto de Infantería in the middle of it.

These ramps, up to 18% at some points, emerged as a key point for the resolution of the race. García and Antonio González, from Soria, came out of them as part of a small group of about twenty riders. González, the final winner of the mountains classification, was a great support for the leader in the final part of the race. This small leading peloton was the source of attacks, and also grew in number on the later terrain until it reached thirty members, but in essence it was the group that ended up playing for the partial victory.

Pablo García, winner of the Trofeo Cabedo: “I’m speechless. What the team has done for me today I can’t thank them enough. After the crash in the Tour de l’Ain I thought my season was definitely over. But I never gave up and I worked very hard to make sure it wasn’t. And in the end, everything comes to the one who gets it. And in the end everything comes to those who know how to wait”. The victory of the rider from Ayora is the eighth victory of a rider of the Contador Foundation structure in this event, which celebrated its ninth edition in 2021. Pablo García follows the successes of Javi Serrano (2019), Álex Martín (2018), Carlos García (2017), Tomeu Gelabert (2016), Guillem Cassú (2015), Miguel Ángel Alcaide (2014) and Enric Mas (2013).

Guillermo Gutiérrez, director of the EOLO-KOMETA Cycling Team junior: “We bid farewell to the season with a great victory, in a race that we like very much, where we feel at home and where we have always achieved good results. A victory that, although it sounds cliché, belongs to the whole team. Pablo has always been involved in the race, especially in the second race, but it was in the team time trial on Saturday, with the maximum effort of all the guys, where he won the yellow jersey. Pablo deserved such a triumph, in his home town, because he is a very disciplined boy, a very good team-mate, very correct and who never stops improving day by day. In addition, it comes to reward his perseverance after having to stop because of a fall. It’s a nice end to such an intense and different season”.

[📷  @Cxcling / Trofeo Cabedo ]

Related riders

Joel Díaz Pablo García Antonio González Lucas Guillermo Gergo Magyar David Puente

More news

Eolo Kometa
Aurum Burger King VisitMalta
Retelit Elmec Gobik Skoda
Enve Kask Dmt DINAMO Koo Clique MOMO
Vittoria Chiaravalli Bkool Prologo Oliva Nova Elite Look Walbike Training Peaks Ceramicspeed Supersapiens La casa del fisio Premium madrid Sportlast Bend36 TWS Velotoze John Smith Scicon Life brain BetaTools Pizzini