José Luis Medina, on the attack at the competitive premiere of Challenge Subbética

News · 18 September, 2020

I Challenge Ciclista La Subbética
Stage 1: Cabra-Carcabuey (60,9 km)

About thirty riders faced the final repechage in the streets of Carcabuey where this first stage of this first Challenge Ciclista La Subbética ended and at the finish, a finish that stretched the group a lot and caused some minimal differences, the fastest was Juan Ayuso from Alicante. The Bathco rider beat Daniel Criado (Salchi) and the Frenchman Pablo Sanchez (Monaco-Astana), while Pedro Beneit crossed the finish line in seventh place.

The cyclist of Setenil de las Bodegas, who would climb to the podium as leader of the general of the “metas volantes”, was one of the great protagonists of this inaugural day of the Andalusian race, because he was already present in the first skirmishes that took place after the initial flag. Together with Marius Knight-Chaneac and Adrián Díaz they managed to open a half-minute gap which was followed up, already in solitary, and after a duet movement with Marius, while they had various movements at the back.

Medina climbed the Alto del Esparragal alone, a mountain that he would crown with a 40 second margin, while Juan Ayuso moved on its ramps to end up catching up with the junior team rider of the Fundación Contador at the kilometre 50 of the race. The duo would grow to eleven units, including Arnau Gilabert and Antonio González, as they crossed the finish line. At the back, some twenty seconds behind, another twenty riders who would end up reaching the top within the last three kilometres. At the finish line, Gilabert finished eleventh, Medina fifteenth and González seventeenth.

📷  La Subbética / Photographers Sports

(automatic translation, sorry for mistakes)

Related riders

Antonio González Arnau Gilabert José Luis Medina Marius Knight-Chaneac Pablo García Pedro Beneit David Gimeno

More news

Eolo Kometa
Aurum Burger King VisitMalta
Retelit Elmec Gobik Skoda
Enve Kask Dmt DINAMO Koo Clique MOMO
Vittoria Chiaravalli Bkool Prologo Oliva Nova Elite Look Walbike Training Peaks Ceramicspeed Supersapiens La casa del fisio Premium madrid Sportlast Bend36 TWS Velotoze John Smith Scicon Life brain BetaTools Pizzini