An anniversary Cursa del Llobregat hosts the first race of the eagerly awaited Copa de España

News · 26 May, 2021

40ª Cursa Ciclista del Llobregat
Navas – Sant Boi de Llobregat (111,3 km)

… And the Spanish Cup is finally here. The epidemiological circumstances, containment measures and mobility restrictions have severely conditioned this edition of the Copa de España in the junior category. It already happened last season, when the pandemic reduced the competition to just three races. And the dynamics did not change much at the start of the year, although the cancellations were transformed into postponements. And so it is that this last Sunday in May the Catalan roads host the opening of the Cup for the youth category with an iconic race that also reaches a round number.

The first of the seven races of the Cup in 2021 has ended up being the Cursa del Llobregat. And the Cursa, the same race that closed the tournament in 2020, when it was held in October, does so in what will be its fortieth edition. No less than forty editions of the Cursa del Llobregat, a figure that reinforces it as a fundamental event in the category. A race to respect, to praise and to honour. In short, a race that is part of the heritage of formative sport.

The route of the Cursa de Llobregat remains in line with recent years, with a very steep terrain in its initial part and the passes through the high points of Vacarisses and l’Ullastrell as breaking points before the final steep climb in the streets Jaume Balmes and Pau Claris in Sant Boi.

In 2020 the team led by Guillermo Gutiérrez reached the podium thanks to Alejandro Luna, third then and today in the U23 team of the Foundation. For this 2021 the team will compete with the Catalan Joel Díaz, the Balearic Marc Terrasa, the Cantabrian David Gimeno, the Valencian Pablo García, the Castilian-Leonese Antonio González, the Madrid riders Miguel Ángel Molina and Miguel Ramos and the great novelty of the Hungarian Gergo Magyar, who will make his debut in the Spanish calendar with his new colours. Pablo, Miguel and David are the three riders who already took part in 2020.

Related riders

Joel Díaz Pablo García David Gimeno Antonio González Gergo Magyar Miguel Ángel Molina Miguel Ramos Marc Terrasa

More news

Eolo Kometa
Aurum Burger King VisitMalta
Retelit Elmec Gobik Skoda
Enve Kask Dmt DINAMO Koo Clique MOMO
Vittoria Chiaravalli Bkool Prologo Oliva Nova Elite Look Walbike Training Peaks Ceramicspeed Supersapiens La casa del fisio Premium madrid Sportlast Bend36 TWS Velotoze John Smith Scicon Life brain BetaTools Pizzini